Press Releases

For Immediate Release: June 13, 2011

Nine Executive Board Members Win Unopposed

Today members of the Uniformed Firefighters Association (UFA) reelected Steve Cassidy as UFA President, carrying 74 percent of the total member vote, with nine UFA board members reelected, after going unopposed.

The election gives Mr. Cassidy - who took office in August 2002 - a fourth consecutive term as UFA President, the first to do so in more than 65 years. The last UFA president to be elected to serve 12 consecutive years was Vincent J. Kane, who served from 1930-1945. It is also only the second time in modern UFA history that the entire UFA Executive Board was reelected. In the vote conducted by the American Arbitration Association, Firefighter Stephen J. Cassidy of Engine 236 gained 3,939 votes (74%) to retired Firefighter Rudy Sanfillipo, with 1,403 votes (26%)]. Mr. Cassidy carried every borough in his reelection. "I thank my fellow firefighters for their confidence and support and for allowing me to serve as President of the UFA," said Steve Cassidy. "Together with the Executive Board I look forward to advocating for UFA members for the coming three years."

The following incumbents ran unopposed: Vice President, James Slevin (Ladder 7); Treasurer, Robert J. Straub (Engine 45); Recording Secretary, Joseph A. Miccio (Engine 295); Health & Safety Officer/Sergeant-at-Arms, William Romaka, Engine 238; Brooklyn Trustee & Chairman of the Board of Trustees, John G. Kelly (Engine 201); Manhattan Trustee, Daniel Murphy (Engine 74); Queens Trustee, Leroy C. McGinnis (Engine 266); Bronx Trustee, Edward Brown (Ladder 48); Staten Island Trustee, Donald J. Ruland (Engine 157).

The new term of office takes effect August 1, 2011.