Press Releases

For Immediate Release: February 08, 2008

UFA Members Re-elect Cassidy To Third Term As President
Romaka Reelected as Health & Safety Officer/Sergeant At Arms
Eight Executive Board Members Win Unopposed

Today members of the Uniformed Firefighters Association reelected Steve Cassidy as UFA President, carrying 72 percent of the total member vote and Bill Romaka as UFA Health & Safety Officer/Sergeant-at-Arms carrying 74.6 percent.

The election gives Mr. Cassidy a third consecutive term as UFA President, the first to do so in 40 years. The last UFA president to be elected to serve nine consecutive years was Gerald J. Ryan, who served from 1959-1968.

The election was also a first in UFA history in that each borough trustee ran unopposed, as did the Vice President, Treasurer and Recording Secretary. With today's election it is the first time in modern UFA history that the entire UFA Executive Board was reelected.

In the vote conducted by the American Arbitration Association, Firefighter Stephen J. Cassidy of Engine 236 gained 4,132 votes (72%) to Firefighter Rudy Sanfillipo, of Engine 258 with 1,619 votes (28%). Mr. Cassidy carried every borough in his reelection.

"Representing New York City's Bravest as their President is a great honor," said Steve Cassidy. "Together as a board we will continue to work tirelessly to improve the wages and working conditions of New York City Firefighters."

For the position of Health & Safety Officer/Sergeant-at-Arms, Firefighter William Romaka of Engine 238, the incumbent, received 4,249 votes (74.6%), and his opponent Timothy J. Moynihan of Marine 1 received 1,444 (25.4%) votes.

The following incumbents ran unopposed: Vice President, James Slevin (Ladder 7); Treasurer, Robert J. Straub (Engine 45); Recording Secretary, Joseph A. Miccio (Engine 295); Manhattan Trustee, Daniel Murphy (Engine 74); Brooklyn Trustee, John G. Kelly (Engine 201); Queens Trustee, Stephen G. Humenesky (Engine 301); Bronx Trustee, Edward Brown (Ladder 48); Staten Island Trustee, Donald J. Ruland (Engine 157).

The new term of office takes effect May 1, 2008.

# # #